NACFLM Member Award Recipients

1982: Reverend Carl Arico – Pastor, Archdiocese of Newark, NJ
–        Reverend Donald Conroy – National Institute on Family

1983: North American Conference of Separated & Divorced Catholics

1984: National Marriage Encounter
–        World Marriage Encounter
–        Reverend William McNulty – Pastor, Archdiocese of Chicago, IL

1985: Monsignor William Peters – Director, Family Life Bureau
–        Diocese of Altoona-Johnston, PA

1986: Reverend Peter Sammon – Pastor, Archdiocese of San Francisco, CA
–        Reverend Steven Priester – Center for Family Studies
–        Ms. Dolores Curran – Author – Family Life Educator

1987: Reverend Thomas Lynch – Pastor, Diocese of Bridgeport, CT

1988: Dave Thomas, Ph. D. – Regis College

1989: Reverend Thomas Boland – First President of NACFLM, Pastor, Arch. of Louisville, KY

1990: Barbara Markey, ND, Ph.D. – Director, Family Life Office, Archdiocese of Omaha, NE

1991: Val Dillon – NACFLM President (1987-1989)

1992: Sr. Lauren Hanley – Family Advocate, Diocese of Rockville Centre, NY
–        Leif Kehrwald – Director, Family Life Office, Archdiocese of Portland, OR

1993: Ed and Peg Gleason – Co-Directors, Family Life Ministry, San Francisco, CA

1994: Beginning Experience
–        Center for Youth Ministry Development

1995: Cana Conference of Chicago
–        Sr. Mauryeen O’Brien, O.P. – Divorced and Bereaved, Family Life Office, Hamden CT
–        Stephen and Kathleen Beirne – Editors of Foundations, Family Life Ministry, Portland, ME

1996: Mary Jo Pedersen – Parent and Family Ministry Educator, Archdiocese of Omaha, NE
–        Jim and Sue Vogt – Authors, Family Advocates, Diocese of Covington, KY

1997: Sr. Kateri Battaglia, M.S.C. – Director Family Ministries, Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux, LA

1998: Terry and Mimi Reilly – – Directors, Family Life Office, Venice, FL

1999: Catholic Engaged Encounter

2000: James Healy, Ph.D. – Director, Center for Family Ministry, Diocese of Joliet, IL

2001: Winnie Honeywell – Director, Office of Family Life Ministry, Diocese of Galveston-Houston

2002: Kathleen Chesto, Ph.D. – Spouse, mother, teacher, author video producer

2003: Tom McGrath – Author

2005: Don and Chris Paglia – Co-Directors, Family Life Office in Hartford, CT

2009: George and Judy Clark – Co-Directors at St. Mark’s Parish in Plano, TX
–        Jacki Corrigan – Marriage & Family Life Consultant for Archdiocese of Kansas City, KS

2011: Fr. Daniel Ramirez-Portugal – St. John Neuman Parish, Loredo, TX
–        Lydia Pesina – Director Family Life Office, Brownsville, TX

2013: Christine Codden – Director, Office of Marriage & Family, Diocese of St. Cloud, MN
–        Anne Keough – Director, Holy Spirit Catholic Church, Duncanville, TX

2017:  Frank Hannigan, Archdiocese of Chicago, IL
–        Rob Ruhnke, C.Ss.R., Marriage Preparation Resources, For Better & For Ever, San Antonio, TX

2019:  Elizabeth Reha, Office of Family Life, Diocese of Little Rock, AR

2021:  Susan Heider – NACFLM National Office, Dayton, OH

Recognition for Outstanding Contributions to Family Ministry

1983: Most Reverend J. Francis Stafford – Archbishop of Denver, CO

1987: David and Vera Mace – Founders of Association of Couples in Marriage Enrichment (ACME), Authors
–        Reverend Jim Young – Pioneer in Divorce Ministry (Posthumous)

1990: Jim and Kathy McGinnis – Parenting for Peace and Justice (PPJ)
–        University of Dayton – Initiator of Educational Symposia
–        Most Reverend Howard J. Hubbard – Initial Chair of the Bishop’s Committee on Marriage and Family

1991: Reverend Joseph Champlin – Pastor, Author, Speaker
–        Marriage and Family Magazine – National Religious Magazine Published by Abbey Press

1992: Rainbows for All God’s Children – Suzy Yehl Marta
–        Retrouvaille – Bob and Marie Pate

1993: Christian Family Movement – Paul and Jane Leingang
–        Rick McCord – USCC

1994: NCCB Committee on Marriage and Family for their work on Follow the Way of Love

1995: Raskob Foundation for Catholic Activities

1996: Bill Keane – Family Values of Cartoon, Family Circus

1997: Cardinal Joseph Bernardin – Archdiocese of Chicago, IL (Posthumous)
–        Rabbi Edwin Friedman, M.A., D.D. – The Center for Family Process (Posthumous)

1998: Dolores Leckey – Director, Secretariat for Family, Laity, Women & Youth, Washington DC

1999: Lynn Johnston – Cartoonist, For Better or For Worse
–        Reverend Fred Kammer, S.J. – President, Catholic Charities USA

2000: Center for Marriage and Family, Creighton University
–         Vicki Thorn – Founder, National Office of Post-Abortion Reconciliation and Healing

2001: Scott Stanley, Ph.D. – Co-director, Center for Marital and Family Studies, U of Denver, CO

2002: Barbara Whitehead, Ph.D. – Co-director, National Marriage Project at Rutgers University, NJ

2003: Habitat for Humanity – An organization that builds up families and communities
–         Diane Solee, MSW – creator of Smart Marriages

2005: Joan Comeau – Founder and President of Family Information Services

2009: Fr. Charles Gallagher, SJ – Originator and driving force behind Worldwide Marriage Encounter

2011: Most Reverend Joseph Kurtz – Archdiocese of Louisville

2013: Most Reverend R. Daniel Conlon – Bishop, Diocese of Joliet
–        Most Reverend George Rassas – Auxiliary Bishop, Archdiocese of Chicago

2017: National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry

2019: National Council of Catholic Women

2021:  Most Reverend Charles J. Chaput, O.F.M. Cap., D.D. – Archbishop Emeritus of Philadelphia

Board of Directors Award for Outstanding Service

1994: Reverend Daryl Furlong – Clergy Education Contributions

1995: Bishop Michael Kenny (deceased) – Diocese of Juneau, Alaska